January 25, 2022 – The Free Trade Commission of the Pacific Alliance, made up of the Trade Ministers of Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru, approved the update of the tariff nomenclature of the specific requirements of origin.

During the meeting, held within the framework of the Council of Ministers of the bloc and prior to the handover of the pro tempore presidency by Colombia to Mexico, the ministers emphasized that this update translates into more facilities for comercial exchange between the 4 countries, as well as greater precision and fluidity.

In this way, entrepreneurs benefit the most from these updates.

In addition, they acknowledged the work of the Committee on Rules of Origin and Origin-Related Procedures.

It should be recalled that the Free Trade Commission is the administrative body of the Trade Protocol and is responsible for ensuring compliance with and implementation of the commitments contained therein. It also approves the development of the Agreements contained therein.